LABOUR Celebrate General Election Triumph Over SNP In Inverclyde

5 July, 2024 | Local

MARTIN McCluskey of Scottish Labour has been elected as the MP for Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West.

He received nearly 19,000 votes, around 6,400 more than previous Inverclyde MP Ronnie Cowan of the SNP.

The count took place at Greenock Town Hall, with the result announced just after 4am (Friday).

Mr McCluskey, an Inverclyde councillor, said the result showed a desire for change and that a Labour government would focus on the priorities of working people and restore decency and integrity to public life.

He thanked Mr Cowan for his nine years serving as Inverclyde’s MP and added: “My message to everyone who voted for me is that I will work every day to serve communities and represent your interests.”

More photos

Returning officer Louise Long announced that 40,451 votes had been cast, with a turnout of around 58 per cent.

This is the first UK Parliamentary Election for the new Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West constituency following recent boundary changes.

The Inverclyde constituency area has been enlarged and now includes Bridge of Weir, Houston, and surrounding areas in Renfrewshire West.

At the last General Election in December 2019, under the previous Inverclyde constituency, Ronnie Cowan (SNP) secured 19,295 votes and Martin McCluskey (Labour) came second with 11,783.

Candidates and votes received:

  • John Burleigh – 365
  • Ronnie Cowan – Scottish National Party (SNP) – 12,560
  • Iain Adams Hamilton – Scottish Green Party – 1,173
  • Martin McCluskey – Scottish Labour Party – 18,931
  • Christopher William McEleny – Alba Party: Yes to Scottish Independence – 723
  • Simon Charles Wheeler Moorehead – Reform UK – 2,476                   
  • Ted Runciman – Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 2,863
  • Ross Stalker – Scottish Liberal Democrats – 1,259

National coverage BBC

Pin It on Pinterest