Inverclyde Now Logo BOARD Of Directors Appointed For Ferguson Marine Yard

26 June, 2020 | Clyde Shipping

FERGUSON Marine shipyard, Port Glasgow, has announced the appointment of a chairman and five board directors.

They have been appointed by the cabinet secretary for economy, fair work and culture, and bring a wealth of diverse and extensive experience to the business.

The board will work closely with the management team at Government-owned Ferguson’s to deliver a sustainable future for commercial shipbuilding on the lower Clyde.

Alistair Mackenzie joins as non-executive director and chairman.

He is a master mariner and has spent more than 35 years working primarily in the oil and gas energy sector with experience in a variety of senior management roles.

Having officially retired in 2017, Mr Mackenzie is currently chairman of Aberdeen Harbour Board and joint owner and director of Mentor Aviation Services Ltd, a subsidiary in the Ace DGM group of companies.

John Hudson, CBE –Non-executive director and a recently retired BAE Systems Maritime managing director and former engineering director. Based at Barrow shipyard for 20 years, in 2013 Mr Hudson was promoted and became responsible for the company’s entire maritime operation including naval ships.

Alan J Johnston, CBE — Non-executive director and managing director of AgustaWestland UK and chief executive of BVT Surface Fleet Ltd, Mr Johnston has had extensive experience in establishing successful joint venture management teams with different histories and cultures in both shipbuilding and aerospace.

Robert MacKenzie — Non-executive director and board member of Crown Estate Scotland, chairing the Audit and Risk Committee. Mr MacKenzie spent 25 years as a business technology and donsulting partner at accountancy firm Scott-Moncrieff where he also sat on the board for more than 15 years and chair for the last four.

Alison Mitchell — Non-executive director and chartered fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development, Mrs Mitchell is currently a non-executive board member of NHS Lothian and Trustee of Edinburgh and Lothians Health Foundation. She is also a lay member of the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland and the independent member of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Judicial Appointments Commission for England and Wales.

Stuart N Smith — Non-executive director and fellow of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects (FRINA), Dr Smith has more thn 35 years of leadership experience in the oil and gas and subsea contracting sectors, extensive experience of design and build of specialist ships and knowledge of many shipyards around the world.

Cabinet Secretary Fiona Hyslop, said “I am delighted that we have been able to appoint six non–executive members to the Ferguson Marine (Port Glasgow) Limited board of directors.

“They have all shown motivation, commitment to the business and its future, along with a full understanding of the history and context of why the Scottish Government has taken ownership.

“The combined skills of the board will help ensure that Ferguson’s is in the strongest position to continue with critical restructuring and development over the next 12 to 18 months.”

Tim Hair, turnaround director, said “The appointment of Alistair as chairman and the other non-executives is another milestone on Ferguson’s journey to becoming a normal business. I would like to welcome them to the board and look forward to working with them to build a bright future for the shipyard.”

Pin It on Pinterest