SENIOR Inverclyde Council Roles Confirmed

19 May, 2022 | Local

COUNCILLORS have agreed who will chair its committees following the first meeting of the newly-elected Inverclyde Council.

Councillor Drew McKenzie, who is an independent, was confirmed as provost. It’s the first time Inverclyde’s provost has not been a Labour or Liberal councillors. Councillor Graeme Brooks will be deputy provost.

Councillor Stephen McCabe is leader of the council again after Labour was able to form a minority administration. Councillor Natasha McGuire is deputy leader.

The leader of the largest non-administration group is Councillor Elizabeth Robertson of the SNP.

Other appointments

Policy and Resources Committee

Convener: Councillor Stephen McCabe
Vice Convener: Councillor Martin McCluskey

Environment and Regeneration Committee

Convener: Councillor Michael McCormick
Vice Convener (Environment): Councillor Paul Cassidy
Vice Convener (Regeneration): Councillor Jim Clocherty

Education and Communities Committee

Convener: Councillor Jim Clocherty
Vice Convener (Education): Councillor Francesca Brennan
Vice Convener (Communities): Councillor Natasha McGuire

Health and Social Care Committee

Convener: Councillor Colin Jackson
Vice Convener: Councillor Martin McCluskey

Audit Committee

Convener: Councillor Innes Nelson
Vice Convener: Councillor David Wilson

General Purposes Board

Chair: Councillor Robert Moran
Vice Chair: Councillor Christopher Curley

Planning Board:

Chair: Councillor Tommy McVey
Vice Chair: Councillor Christopher Curley

Inverclyde Licensing Board

Chair: Councillor Graeme Brooks
Vice Chair: Councillor Sandra Reynolds

Pin It on Pinterest