INVERCLYDE Sports Personality Awards Finalists Announced

28 April, 2022 | Noticeboard, Sport

THE finalists for the Inverclyde Sports Personality Awards have been announced, with almost 60,000 votes cast.

The winners will be revealed at the gala awards evening which takes place in Greenock Town Hall on Friday 13 May.

For the organisers, Chris Jewell said: “Once again there has been a huge number of votes cast and we look forward to another great evening awards event.

“The winners are selected by a panel and votes cast play a part in this. Finalists can pick up their free ticket (one per club and one per team) from Smiths Sports in West Blackhall Street, and we would encourage family, friends and colleagues to purchase tickets to support the finalists on the night.

“The tickets cost £38 each and include a drink on arrival, a three-course meal with table drinks and tea and coffee. The dress code is smart but this is not a black tie event.

“The organisers are very grateful to our sponsors Inverclyde Council, Inverclyde Leisure, sportscotland, West College Scotland, Autotec in Port Glasgow, Amazon Gourock and Reid Mackellar.

“Any proceeds from the event are used to provide grants to aspiring Inverclyde sportspeople and we hope to award two grants as part of the awards event.”

The finalists are:

Club of the Year

Glenpark Harriers (Athletics/Running)
Inverclyde Amateur Swimming Club (Swimming)
Waterfront Ice Skating Club (Figure skating)

Team of the Year

Greenock Wanderers Ladies (Rugby)
Greenock Wanderers Under-14s (Rugby)
Morton Community 2009s Blue (Football)

Junior Sports Personality Of The Year

Jonathan Cameron (Athletics)
Ross Darroch (Rugby)
Lewis Hainey (Athletics)
Millie Paton (Football)
Megan Sweeney (Athletics)

Senior Sports Personality Of The Year

Kyle Brotherton (Wheelchair racing)
Jonny Glen (Athletics)
Nynke Mulholland (Athletics)

Young Volunteer Of The Year

Isaac Dunning (Swimming)
Michael Smith (Football)

Coach Of The Year

Kay Cooke (Athletics)
MT Crumlish (Rugby)
Emma Forster (Athletics)
Andrew Hemphill (Swimming)
Alan O’Rourke (Athletics/Running)

Adult Volunteer of the Year

Andy Cameron (Athletics/Running)
Callum Gerrard (Table tennis)
Jon Hammerman (Athletics)

Disabled Sports Personality Of The Year

Kyle Brotherton (Wheelchair racing)
Isaac Dunning (Swimming)
Aimee Hagan (Swimming)

Pin It on Pinterest