Inverclyde Now Logo GOLF — Whinhill Celebrate Successful Season

15 January, 2020 | Other Sports

WHINHILL Golf Club, Greenock drew the 2019 season to a close with its annual prize-giving.

Most of the competitions organised saw large numbers compete making it a very successful year for the club.

The Scratch Team was crowned Inverclyde Club Team winners and Jamie Sinnamon, pictured right with club captain Robert Bell, was crowned Club Champion for the second time.

Competition Winners

Holy Loch Trophy – Lee Sinnamon. D. K. Thompson Trophy – David Ellis. Centenary Trophy – John O’ Donnell. Ford Trophy – Eddie Cassidy. J. McDermid Trophy – David Adams. Persimmon Homes Trophy – John Burden. Wallace Trophy – John O’ Donnell. Coronation Cup – Hugh Speirs. President’s Prize – Joe McArthur. Beith Trophy – Derek Church. D. Hamilton Trophy – Jason Lindsay. J. Paul Trophy – John Gardiner. C. McCready Trophy – Kenny Lever. Jubilee Trophy – Steven Thomson. Campbell Trophy – Jason Lindsay. A. Wilson Trophy – Harry Coventry. J. Melvin Trophy – John Donald. J.S. Thomson Trophy – Andrew Mallon. Peter Kirkwood Trophy – Jason Lindsay. Outing Trophy – Tommy Morton. John Renfrew Memorial Trophy – Peter Daly. Inverclyde Sports Council Trophy – Calum Blincow. Jim Paterson Memorial Trophy – Peter Daly.

Matchplay Competition Winners

Boyd Trophy – Brian Lindsay & Jason Lindsay. McIntyre Trophy – Craig Keir & John McGovern. Anniversary Trophy – Peter Folan. Peter Graham Trophy – Brian Lindsay. Hugh Graham Trophy – Michael Wright. Auld Yins’ Tassie Trophy – John Lawrence. Churm Trophy – Peter Folan.

Major Competition Winners

Inverclyde Champion of Champions – John Donald. Medal Final – 1st Section – Billy McCulloch. Medal Final – 2nd Section – Brian Mallon. Medal Final – 3rd Section – Brian Blacklaw. R. N. L. I. – 1st Section – Calum Blincow. R. N. L. I. – 2nd Section – Joe Cassidy. R. N. L. I. – 3rd Section – John Lawrence. Hammy Simpson Trophy – Jason Lindsay. Eric Blaikie Trophy – John McGovern & Mikey Dorrian. J. Snoddy Trophy – Jim Logue. Winter Cup Handicap Trophy – Brian Mallon. Winter Cup Scratch Trophy – John Donald. Texas Scramble – David Casement (Port Glasgow G.C.), Peter Daly, Andy Hendry & Chris Payne (The Carrick on Loch Lomond G.C.). Margaret Lever Trophy – Andy Hendry. A. T . McKnight Trophy – Gary Sinnamon & James Harkness (Greenock G.C). Jimmy Lang Trophy – Robert Davis (Gourock G.C.) & Sandy MacLean (Greenock G.C.). Whinhill Trophy – Derek Church. Strokeplay Trophy – John Donald. Club Championship Trophy – Jamie Sinnamon.

The club thank all who made the season possible in particular the bar and catering staff for looking after all members and visitors so hospitably, the green-keepers for keeping the course in such fine condition and the Match and Handicap Committee for their constant hard work in providing members and visitors with more than 70 competitions.

Pin It on Pinterest