SWIMMING: Port Glasgow Otters Hold Gala

2 July, 2024 | Local, Sport

PORT Glasgow Otters held their annual gala at the Waterfront Leisure Complex, Greenock in front of an enthusiastic crowd of family, friends and invited guests.

A very exciting day was enjoyed by everyone and presentations were made by the club’s special friends and major benefactors Graeme Brooks, Helen Calvert, Marion Strachan, Kathleen, Paul and Wendy English, John Laird, Colin MacDonald and Kenny Cairns.


Louis Nugent Cup (Beginners’ Breadth)

1st Aodhan McGachy

Fyfeshore Trophy (Beginners’ Breadth)

1st Ethan Hepburn
2nd Lily Pelosi
3rd Caleb Cannon

Alex Calvert Cup (Mixed Skills Length)

1st Ethan Hepburn
2nd Kellyanne Deveaney
3rd Emma McEwan

Comet Cup (25m Freestyle)

1st Ruairidh Craynor
2nd Courtney Clark
3rd Lindi Steele

St Gabriel’s Cup (25m Freestyle)

1st Aimee Phillips
2nd Tommy McNair
3rd Emma Thompson

Peter Stanton Memorial Shield (25m Backstroke)

1st Kian McLean
2nd Ruairidh Craynor
3rd Emma Thompson

McKern Cup (100m Individual Medley [IM])

1st Isaac Dunning
2nd Ross O’Donnell
3rd Paula Carroll

Medley Award (75 IM)

1st Paige McLean
2nd Stephen Coyle
3rd Katy Boyle

PGO Novice Cup (25m Backstroke)

1st Courtney Clark
2nd Aimee Phillips
3rd Lindi Steele

Harbeson Cup (25m Backstroke)

1st Kian McLean
2nd Tommy McNair

Jack English Trophy (50m Backstroke)

1st Zak Gallacher
2nd Jordyn Fitzharris
3rd Lee Morrison

Celebration Quaich (25m Breaststroke)

1st Courtney Clark
2nd Kian McLean
3rd Ruairidh Craynor

Craigmarloch Trophy (50m Backstroke)

1st Isaac Dunning
2nd Kyle Brotherton
3rd Eve Cushnaghan

Peter Stanton Cup (50m Breaststroke)

1st Ross O’Donnell
2nd Aimee Hagan
3rd Richard Browning

George Polea Cup (25m Breaststroke)

1st Adam Parker
2nd Zak Gallacher
3rd Lee Morrison

Tuesday Belles Shield (50m Butterfly)

1st Richard Browning
2nd Aimee Hagan
3rd Chris Dillon

Lodge 1121 (50m Freestyle)

1st Kyle Brotherton
2nd Eve Cushnaghan
3rd Adam Parker

Jean Street Cup (50m Breaststroke)

1st Ross O’Donnell
2nd Katy Boyle
3rd Paige McLean

St Stephen’s High School Cup (50m Freestyle)

1st Isaac Dunning; Richard Browning (Joint)
2nd Lee Morrison

Gary Gallacher Cup (50m Freestyle)

1st Ross O’Donnell
2nd Zak Gallacher
3rd Jordyn Fitzharris

Joe Ward Cup (100m Freestyle)

1st Stephen Coyle
2nd Paige McLean
3rd Aimee Hagan

Millennium Plate (100m Freestyle)

1st Isaac Dunning
2nd Richard Browning
3rd Eve Cushnaghan

Annual Merit Awards

Endeavour Girl – Lily Pelosi
Endeavour Boy – Rudi Smith
Overcoming Adversity Male – Lee Morrison
Overcoming Adversity Female – Kellyanne Deveaney
Junior Girl Champion – Courtney Clark
Junior Boy Champion – Zak Gallacher
Female Club Champion – Emma Thompson
Male Club Champion – Kyle Brotherton
Most Improved Swimmer (Snr) – Aimee Phillips
Lee McDaid Trophy – Max McCorkindale

Dedication Awards – Eve Cushnaghan, Richard Browning and Isaac Dunning
John Boyle Memorial Shield Special Award – Ross O’Donnell
Jimmy Strachan Memorial Shield Special Award – Ruiaridh Craynor
Peter Hearl Memorial Shield Special Award – Adam Parker

An Outstanding Contribution Award was also presented to coach Caleb Dunning.

Pin It on Pinterest