SCOTTISH Youth Parliament Election Results Announced

24 November, 2021 | Local

From left, Maya McCrae, Megan Alford, Caden James Arthur, Inverclyde Council chief executive Louise Long and Keziah Rugumya.

INVERCLYDE has elected two new members of the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Clydeview Academy pupil Maya McCrae, 16, and Inverclyde Academy student Keziah Rugumya, 17, have been selected to represent the area by their peers following two weeks of voting.

A total of 2,321 votes were cast online via the Young Scot website, in schools and at Inverclyde Council’s iYouth Zones in Greenock and Port Glasgow.

New MSYPs Maya McCrae, left, Keziah Rugumya, right, and Inverclyde Council chief executive Louise Long

Maya and Keziah stood for election alongside Port Glasgow High pupil Caden James Arthur, 15, and while there were only two seats up for grabs, all three have been invited to take part in discussions with local authority education chiefs to share their views and ideas for the benefit of the area’s young people.

The election result was announced by Inverclyde Council chief executive, Louise Long, at a ceremony in the Municipal Buildings in Greenock.

Also at the event was outgoing MSYP Megan Alford who shared her experiences of representing the area since 2019 before welcoming Maya and Keziah as her successors.

Anyone aged 12 to 25 was eligible to have their say on who they wanted to represent them at the Scottish Youth Parliament for the next two years.

Inverclyde Council’s community, learning and development (CLD) youth work services supported the candidates in their training and campaigning and with the election locally.

Pin It on Pinterest