LOCAL Sports Stars Honoured At Awards Ceremony

16 May, 2022 | Sport

Club of the Year Glenpark Harriers

THE Inverclyde Sports Personality Awards took place at Greenock Town Hall

Trophies for eight categories were presented.

Meanwhile, it was announced that three grants from the proceeds from the event will be awarded to Jim Lyon for tennis, Sean Fischer-Keogh for cricket and Sandra Watters for bowling.

Scroll down for sports award winners

Grant recipients Jim Lyon, Sean Fischer-Keogh and Sandra Watters with Chris Jewell of the organisers, Sharon Gardiner from West College Scotland and David McCorkindale from Inverclyde Leisure

For the organisers, Chris Jewell said: “It was so good to be back with these awards in their Greenock Town Hall setting where the local sporting community could gather again for this special evening.

“As well as the awards themselves, so well hosted by presenters Amber Zoe and Mike McLean, we heard from football commentator and pundit Chick Young and there was great music from The Laurettes plus some fun and very clever table magic during an excellent meal from ICE Catering and Events.

“Very well done to all the winners and finalists, and thanks to all who attended. We must also thank our sponsors Inverclyde Council, Inverclyde Leisure, sportscotland, West College Scotland, Amazon Gourock, Reid Mackellar, Auto-Tec Port Glasgow and New Horizons Marketing for making the evening and the awards possible.

“And because of these sponsors and the responses from the auction and raffle, we will be able to make more grants available to aspiring individual local sports people young and older.”

Sports awards grant scheme

David McCorkindale of Inverclyde Leisure, presenting the Junior Volunteer of the Year award to joint winners Isaac Dunning, left, and Michael Smith
Tony McEwan, of Inverclyde Council, presenting the Team of the Year award, and right, Fiona Cook, of sportscotland, with Emma Forster, coach of the year


Club of the Year — Glenpark Harriers (Athletics/running)

Team of the Year — Greenock Wanderers’ Ladies (Rugby)

Junior Sports Personality of the Year — Lewis Hainey (Athletics)

Kieron Vango, of Inverclyde Leisure, and Lewis Hainey, Junior Sports Personality of the Year, and, right, Campbell Mackellar of Reid Mackellar Opticians presenting the Adult Volunteer of the Year award to a representative of the winner, the late Andy Cameron

Senior Sports Personality of the Year — Jonny Glen (Athletics)

Adult Volunteer of the Year — Andy Cameron (Athletics/running)

Jonny Glen, left, and the late Andy Cameron

Young Volunteer of the Year — Joint winners Isaac Dunning (Swimming) and Michael Smith (Football)

Coach of the Year — Emma Forster (Athletics)

Disabled Sports Personality of the Year — Aimee Hagan

David Gemmell from West College Scotland presenting the Senior Sports Personality of the Year to a representative for the winner Jonny Glen; and, right, Aimee Hagan, Disabled Sports Personality of the Year, with Chris Jewell from New Horizons Marketing

Pin It on Pinterest