INVERCLYDE Council Election Results

6 May, 2022 | Local

LABOUR and the SNP have emerged as the big winners in the Inverclyde Council election.

Labour has nine of the 22 councillors, followed by SNP on eight. There are three independent councillors and two Conservatives.

Outgoing provost Martin Brennan’s daughter Francesca was elected to Inverclyde North.

Jim MacLeod, who had been a councillor for 15 years, was not re-elected.

Also unsuccessful were Alba candidates, father and son Jim and Chris McEleny.

Martin McCluskey became the first Labour councillor for Gourock in a decade.

[Scroll down for full list of candidates and vote totals]

Result: Ward 1 – Inverclyde East (Uncontested)

Christopher Curley (Scottish National Party)
Stephen McCabe (Scottish Labour)
David Wilson (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Result: Ward 2 – Inverclyde East:

Kirsty Law (Scottish National Party)
Drew McKenzie (Independent)
Robert Moran (Scottish Labour)

Result: Ward 3 – Inverclyde Central:

Pam Armstrong (Scottish National Party)
Colin Jackson (Scottish Labour)
Michael McCormick (Scottish Labour)

Result. Ward 4 – Inverclyde North:

Francesca Brennan (Scottish Labour)
Graeme Brooks (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
Jim Clocherty (Scottish Labour)
Elizabeth Robertson (Scottish National Party)

Result. Ward 5 – Inverclyde West:

Martin McCluskey (Scottish Labour)
Lynne Quinn (Independent)
Sandra Reynolds (Scottish National Party)

Result. Ward 6 – Inverclyde South West:

Paul Cassidy (Labour and Co-operative Party)
James Daisley (Scottish National Party)
Innes Nelson (Scottish National Party)

Result. Ward 7 – Inverclyde South:

John Crowther (Scottish National Party SNP)
Natasha McGuire (Scottish Labour Party)
Tommy McVey (Independent)

Ward 1: Inverclyde East was uncontested

Ward 2: Inverclyde East Central

James Kelly (Conservative) 277
Kirsty Law (SNP)720 ELECTED
Jim MacLeod (SNP) 633
Drew McKenzie (Independent) 543 ELECTED
Robert Moran (Labour) 1,016 ELECTED
Louise Williams (Alba) 38

Ward 3: Inverclyde Central

Pam Armstrong (SNP) 968 ELECTED
Ian Bryson (Conservative) 169
Colin Jackson (Labour) 599 ELECTED
Agnes McAuley (SNP) 231
Michael McCormick (Labour) 753 ELECTED
Jim McEleny (Alba) 108

Ward 4: Inverclyde North

Francesca Brennan (Labour) 1,284 ELECTED
Graeme Brooks (Conservative) 761 ELECTED
Jim Clocherty (Labour) 526 ELECTED
John Davidson (The Pensioner’s Party) 75
Philomena Donnachie (Alba) 70
Gillian Maxwell (Independent) 285
Elizabeth Robertson (SNP) 1,122 ELECTED
Jenn Scott-McClafferty (SNP) 606
Jacci Stoyle (Liberal Democrat) 312

Ward 5: Inverclyde West

John Burleigh (Liberal Democrat) 171
Martin McCluskey (Labour) 1,247 ELECTED
Christopher McEleny (Alba) 126
Lynne Quinn (Independent) 1,440 ELECTED
Sandra Reynolds (SNP) 1,271 ELECTED
Ted Runciman (Conservative) 453
William Wilson (Independent) 66

Ward 6: Inverclyde South West

Paul Cassidy (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,175 ELECTED
James Daisley (SNP) 1,206 ELECTED
Lisa Dallas (Conservative) 507
Alasdair Higgins (Liberal Democrat) 251
Innes Nelson (SNP) 606 ELECTED
Paul Travers (Independent) 316

Ward 7: Inverclyde South

John Crowther (SNP) 972 ELECTED
Georgina Halfnight (Conservative) 205
Natasha McGuire (Labour) 891 ELECTED
Irene McLeod (SNP) 359
Tommy McVey (Independent) 730 ELECTED

Pin It on Pinterest