GOLF — Whinhill Hold Annual Prizegiving

29 November, 2021 | Sport

WHINHILL Golf Club’s season drew to a close with its annual prizegiving.

Most of the competitions attracted large numbers of competitors, making 2021 very successful.

At the start of the night, presentations were made to the winners of the very few competitions the club managed to hold during the 2020 season as these winners could not be honoured with a prizegiving, last year, because of pandemic restrictions.

The 2020 season saw John Donald crowned Club Champion for the seventh time.

Club Champion Andrew McDonald with Club Captain John Ferguson

This year, the club won the Renfrewshire Golf Union County Cup for the second time in three years and Andrew McDonald became Club Champion for the first time.

2020 Season Winners

Boyd Trophy – Chris McDiarmid & Andrew McDonald. McIntyre Trophy – David Adams & Jason Lindsay. Peter Graham Trophy – Andrew Mallon. Auld Yins’ Tassie Trophy – David Siddons. Churm Trophy – Tommy O’ Donnell. Strokeplay Trophy – Andrew McDonald. Club Championship Trophy – John Donald.

2021 Season

Competition Winners

Holy Loch Trophy – Paul McCarn. D. K. Thompson Trophy – Frank McLellan. Centenary Trophy – Jimmy Lang. Ford Trophy – Joe Rennie. J. McDermid Trophy – Ross Kincaid. Persimmon Homes Trophy – Ian Blaikie. Wallace Trophy – Denis McCabe. Coronation Cup – Stuart Coils. President’s Prize – Bernard Kangley. Beith Trophy – Kevin McLaughlin. D. Hamilton Trophy – Paul Allan. J. Paul Trophy – Brian Hamil. C. McCready Trophy – Alan Wilson. Jubilee Trophy – Kenny Lever. Campbell Trophy – Jim Dougan. A. Wilson Trophy – Chris Jones. J. Melvin Trophy – Pat O’Donnell. J.S. Thomson Trophy – Jason Lindsay. Peter Kirkwood Trophy – Kevin Trainner. Outing Trophy – Peter McFadyen. John Renfrew Memorial Trophy – Ross Pearson. Inverclyde Sports Council Trophy – Jason Lindsay. Jim Paterson Memorial Trophy – Brian Mallon.

Matchplay Competition Winners

Boyd Trophy – Andrew Mallon & Brian Mallon. McIntyre Trophy – David Adams & Jason Lindsay. Anniversary Trophy – Gerry Harkins. Peter Graham Trophy – Tommy Francis (Jnr). Hugh Graham Trophy – Kevin McLaughlin. Auld Yins’ Tassie Trophy – Frank Smith. Churm Trophy – John McCabe.

Major Competition Winners

Inverclyde Open Handicap winner – David McFeeters.
Renfrewshire Golf Union Seniors Champion – John Donald.
Medal Final – 1st Section – Jim Lyon. 2nd Section – Ross Ballantyne. 3rd Section – Sean McLaughlan.
RNLI – 1st Section – Jason Lindsay. 2nd Section – Jim Dougan. 3rd Section – Denis McCabe.
Hammy Simpson Trophy – John Doyle.
J. Snoddy Trophy – Alistair MacSween.
Texas Scramble – Jim Dougan, Scott Lang, Billy McCafferty & Stephen O’ Connor.
Margaret Lever Trophy – Myles Gallacher.
AT McKnight Trophy – Jason Lindsay & Kevin McGheee (Gleddoch G.C.).
Jimmy Lang Trophy – Gerry Bagstad & John Cassidy.
Whinhill Trophy – Tommy O’ Donnell.
Strokeplay Trophy – Andrew McDonald.
Club Championship Trophy – Andrew McDonald.

The club thank all who made it possible to have such a successful season, in particular, the bar and catering staff for looking after all members and visitors so hospitably; the green-keepers for keeping the course in such fine condition and the Match and Handicap Committee for their constant hard work in providing members and visitors with more than 70 competitions.

Pin It on Pinterest