GOLF: Whinhill Hold Annual Prizegiving

28 November, 2023 | Sport

WHINHILL Golf Club celebrated the end of the 2023 season with its annual prizegiving.

The majority of the competitions saw large numbers compete, making 2023 a very successful season for the club.

Club Champion John Donald being presented with the trophy by club captain David Siddons

John Donald was crowned Club Champion for a record ninth time.

Competition Winners

Holy Loch Trophy – Paul McLaughlan. D. K. Thompson Trophy – David Ellis. Centenary Trophy – Ross Pearson. Ford Trophy – Billy McCafferty. J. McDermid Trophy – Michael McGeechan. Wallace Trophy – Eric Blaikie. Coronation Cup – Colin Coventry. President’s Prize – Bernard Hughes. Beith Trophy – Gary Sinnamon. D. Hamilton Trophy – Stephen Wright. J. Paul Trophy – David Adams. C. McCready Trophy – Andrew Newbury. Jubilee Trophy – Jack McEwan. Campbell Trophy – Brian Blacklaw. A. Wilson Trophy – Bernard Kangley. J. Melvin Trophy – Gary Sinnamon. J.S. Thomson Trophy – Eddie Cassidy. Peter Kirkwood Trophy – Gary Sinnamon. Outing Trophy – Craig Robertson. John Renfrew Memorial Trophy – Brian Mallon. Inverclyde Sports Council Trophy – Matthew McAulay. Jim Paterson Memorial Trophy – Stephen Donald. Robert Bell Trophy – John Ferguson. George Jenkinson Trophy – Dougie Wilson.

Matchplay Competition Winners

Boyd Trophy – Brian Blacklaw and Barry Jackson. McIntyre Trophy – Denis McCabe and John McCabe. Anniversary Trophy – Paul McCarn. Peter Graham Trophy – James Jordan. Hugh Graham Trophy – Stuart Coils. Auld Yins Tassie Trophy – Myles Gallacher. Churm Trophy – Hugh Speirs.

Major Competition Winners

Medal Final – 1st Section – John Donald. Medal Final – 2nd Section – Andy Hendry. Medal Final – 3rd Section – Darren Brown. RNLI – 1st Section – Matthew McAulay. RNLI – 2nd Section – Craig Wright. RNLI – 3rd Section – Pat O’Donnell. Hammy Simpson Trophy – Dougie Wilson. Winter Handicap – Gerry Harkins. Winter Scratch – Stephen Donald. J. Snoddy Trophy – James Robertson. Texas Scramble – Darren Brown, Ryan Elder, Michael McGeechan and Craig Robertson. Margaret Lever Trophy – Richard Hill (Cowal G.C.). Jimmy Lang Trophy – Gary Havlin and Craig Sweeney. Whinhill Trophy – Matthew McAulay. Strokeplay Trophy – John Donald. 2nd Section Championship – Chris Lightfoot. 3rd Section Championship – Chris Bossley. Club Championship Trophy – John Donald.

The club thank all who made the season possible, in particular, the bar and catering staff for looking after all members and visitors so hospitably, the green-keepers for keeping the course in such fine condition and the Match and Handicap Committee for their constant hard work in providing members and visitors with so many competitions.

Pin It on Pinterest