Inverclyde Now Logo GOLF — Junior Section At Whinhill Holds Prize-Giving

18 March, 2019 | Other Sports

Some of the junior trophy winners

WHINHILL Golf Club Junior Section marked the end of a successful season with its annual prize-giving.

Aaron McCue, pictured with club captain Paul Meechan, was crowned Junior Champion for the second time.

Monthly Medal Winners

April -– Jordan Morrison. May -– Mikey Dorrian. June -– Liam Moodie. July -– Darren Church. August -– Darren Church. September -– Liam Moodie.

Competition Winners

Trophy World Direct Shield -– Darren Church. Clyde Electric Cup -– Aaron McCue. Jubilee Trophy -– Aaron McCue. Andrew Brett Trophy –- Liam Moodie. Anniversary Cup –- Liam Moodie. G&M Bodyshop Cup –- Aaron McCue. Carpet Company Cup -– Liam Moodie. Trophy Box Cup –- Darren Church. Spring Cup -– Liam Moodie. Ardgowan Hospice Cup –- Darren Church. Tommy Rogers Memorial Trophy -– Liam Moodie. McNellis & McLaughlan Trophy –- Jordan Morrison. Wright Cup –- Andrew McClure. Carpetrite Challenge Salver -– David Carpentier. Robert Watters Trophy -– Mikey Dorrian.

Major Competition Winners

Medal Final –- Jordan Morrison. Outing Shield -– Aaron McCue. Charlie McDonald Final -– Liam Moodie. Eric Blaikie Trophy -– Darren Church and Robert Bell (Gent Member). James Watt College Merit Trophy –- Darren Church. Winter League Trophy –- Liam Moodie. Junior Jimmy Lang Trophy (Junior Championship qualifier winner) –- Aaron McCue. Junior Open –- Darren Church (Whinhill G.C.). Junior Championship runner-up – Liam Moodie. Junior Championship -– Aaron McCue.

All competitions, events, outings and trips were well attended. Many notable individual achievements were made throughout the course of the season with enthusiasm and progression by the vast majority of young golfers.

Whinhill Golf Club Junior Section thank all staff, members, sponsors, greenkeepers and supporters for their contribution to the 2018 season.

Pin It on Pinterest