Inverclyde Now Logo CLYDE Swimmers Make It From Kilcreggan To Greenock — Despite The Jellyfish

7 August, 2019 | Other Sports

THIRTY-one swimmers braved the Clyde for this year’s three-kilometre crossing from Kilcreggan to the Royal West of Scotland Amateur Boat Club (RWSABC) in Greenock.

Laura Shields, with club vice-president Heather Scott and organiser Joe Heffernan

First to arrive for the second year running was Laura Shields with a time of 47:58. All the others completed the event with the last reaching shore with the time of 2:05:13.

Weather conditions for the annual event run by the RWSABC were excellent with a light easterly breeze; the water temperature was 15 degC.

Jellyfish were out in force — at least four swimmers received stings.

|  Scroll down for full photo coverage

Safety cover was provided by boats from the club and Greenock Sea Cadets. Seventeen kayakers from RWSABC provided close support to the swimmers.

Organiser Joe Heffernan thanked everyone who helped to make the event a success.

All of the participants did a two-kilometre qualifying swim to gain entry into the event.

The five swimmers who completed the crossing without a wetsuit were given the traditional Tabasco Award — a bottle of Tabasco sauce with a label on it commemorating their achievement.

Full results:

Open water swimming in the Clyde takes place each Thursday and Friday evening at RWSABC on the Esplanade until mid-September, entering the water around 6.30pm. Swimmers are invited to go along if they want to give it a try. For more information contact

A social swim takes place at RWSABC on Friday 23 August. There are changing rooms at the boat club, the bar will be open for hot drinks after the swim. Social swims aim to provide a safe and supportive environment to introduce open water swimming to those who haven’t done it before.

Event Photos

Laura Shields

Sarah Burrows and David Jenkins

Gary Short and family, and right, Colin Campbell and granddaughter

Gary Short

Emma Cummings

Jeremy Deveney and Emma Cummings

Colin Campbell

Fraser Keane

James McLatchie and David McCorkindale

William Docherty

John Mullen

Lorraine Young

Swimmers David McCorkindale, Helen Ridley, Sarah Burrows and Marion Monk

Pin It on Pinterest